No Comments

Local Council Amalgamations: City/Country Policy Division

The NSW Government announced that the forced local council amalgamations in Sydney City areas will continue whilst the forced amalgamations in regional areas will be abandoned.  There will be no change to the 20 Councils that have already been merged.

The announcement from Premier Gladys Berejiklian has disappointed many of the local councils embroiled in legal battles over the amalgamations.

The five Sydney mergers that will be pushed forward, subject to the decision of the courts are:

  • North Sydney, Mosman & Willoughby
  • Hunter’s Hill, Lane Cove & Ryde
  • Strathfield, Burwood & Canada Bay
  • Randwick, Waverley & Woollahra
  • Ku-ring-gai & Hornsby

The Government plans to hold elections for the Sydney mergers that are still to occur as soon as possible.

Local Government NSW released polling information on Tuesday demonstrating that less than 20% of the community supported Council mergers.  Local Government NSW President, Cr Keith Rhoades AFSM strongly opposes the forced amalgamations stating that “Local Government is the only way the majority of ordinary individuals can have a direct input into the future of their neighbourhoods”.
Continue reading…