No Comments

Since 2014 the Fair Work Commission has been undertaking a ‘four-yearly review’ of all modern awards, during which the Commission has clarified how some modern award clauses operate and made numerous changes.

Now the time has come for the new modern awards to be released in three tranches, the first of which commence in the first full pay period on or after 4 February 2020 and include the following:

  • Banking, Finance and Insurance Award
  • Legal Services Award
  • Market and Social Research Award
  • Real Estate Industry Award
  • Surveying Award

As every modern award will change according to the tranche in which they are allocated, it is a case of ‘watch this space’ as to the date when the second and third tranches will commence.

Action Items:

Identify what awards apply at your workplace, check which tranche they are included in, review them for changes and areas of actual or potential non-compliance, update systems and documents such as payroll and employment agreements accordingly, and educate relevant personnel such as managers about the new rules and minimum legal requirements. If you require any assistance or advice, please contact our Employment & Workplace Law Team.